Gummy Bears Are Made From The Left Over Bones And Muscles Of Dead Animals


Where do you get your protein? From Gummy Bears? Most people are slaves to their taste buds. Besides the chicken, eggs, pork, vinegar, mushrooms, algae, milk, cheese, beef, peanuts, corn, alcohol, tabacco, chocolate, black tea, coffee, yogurt, ice cream, all fermented foods, sugar, artificial sweetners, honey, molasses, fructose, and now added to the list are Gummy Bears. They are made from the left over bones and muscles of dead animals.

Gummi Bears are small jelly-textured, translucent candies that are sold in bulk and in packages. Gummi Bears were invented by German candy company owner, Hans Riegel who started his business, Haribo, in a production plant in Germany in the 1920s. In 1922, Riegel created a bear-shaped candy made out of fruit gum that he called The Dancing Bear. This product became popular and was later known as the Haribo Gold-Bear. In the 1950s, Riegel invented the Gummi Bear and today these sweet, rubber-like little candy teddy bears are available worldwide.

In the early 1980s, Gummi Bears began to be manufactured by Haribo in the United States. These candies quickly became an American favorite. Haribo's clear Gummi Bears are pineapple-flavored while the red ones are berry-flavored. Gummi Bears are usually always fruit-flavored and an orange gummy bear tastes like orange, a yellow one, like lemon and a green one, like lime.


Gummibar or Gummibarachen means small rubber bears in German. Many Gummi Bears get their rubbery texture from gelatin. Since gelatin is often made from animal bones, these Gummi Bears are not suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Pig or cow bones are usually used for producing gelatin, so persons that do not consume one or both of these animals for religious or other reasons are not likely to want to eat this type of Gummi Bear either. However, there are several different kinds of Gummi Bears on the market today that are made with non-animal options such as pectin or starch rather than gelatin.

Gummi Bears made with starch tend not to be as chewy or gummy as the gelatin types. The Jewish Museum in Berlin is known for its vending machine that contains kosher Gummi Bears. The popularity of Haribo's Gummi Bears led to many other candy manufacturers making similar gummy-textured types of candy such as fruit and animal varieties as well as cola bottle shapes. The Trolli company's Gummi Worms, first marketed in 1981, became a huge success. Sour gummy-textured candies are another popular variation of Reigel's original, sweet Gummi Bear and an acidic ingredient such as fumaric acid often creates the sour taste.


SOURCE
Share this article :


+ comments + 6 comments

April 2, 2013 at 8:27 AM

Do we actually even get any calcium benefit from it?

April 2, 2013 at 7:03 PM

No, we get the gelatin by de-calcifing the bones. Meaning, we take the calcium out of them and what's left over is the gelatin.

April 5, 2013 at 9:18 AM

Noooo!

October 4, 2013 at 12:59 PM

don't forget marshmallows! they contain gelatin too, as do nearly all haribo sweets, wagon wheels, tea cakes, percy pigs (made from pigs, lol!) and bubble gum, etc. Nearly all your favourite chewy sweet treats are made with gelatine but Chewits, Starburst and Skittles are safe for Veggies

February 4, 2014 at 11:42 AM

U would think so

Post a Comment

 
Recommended Sites : The Collective Intelligence | The Healthy Archive
Copyright © 2012-2013 LIBRARY OF MOST CONTROVERSIAL FILES - All Rights Reserved